Awards & Grants: Stephen Jay Gould Prize

Contributed by kjm34 on Jun 07, 2017 - 08:42 PM

Congratulations to this year's Stephen Jay Gould Prize Winner, Dr. Timothy R. Birkhead!

The Stephen Jay Gould Prize is awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution to recognize individuals whose sustained and exemplary efforts have advanced public understanding of evolutionary science and its importance in biology, education, and everyday life in the spirit of Stephen Jay Gould.

The SSE Education Committee is pleased to announce the winner of the 2017 Stephen Jay Gould Prize: Dr. Timothy R. Birkhead. Dr. Birkhead is Professor of Behavior and Evolution at the University of Sheffield and has made major contributions to understanding how animal behavior evolves under environmental pressures and in response to competition. Dr. Birkhead has had a distinguished career both advancing the science of evolution and in conveying that knowledge to the general public. Dr. Birkhead has promoted evolution through his extremely successful popular science books that include Promiscuity: An Evolutionary History of Sperm Competition (2000), The Red Canary(2003), The Wisdom of Birds (2008), Bird Sense (2012), Ten Thousand Birds: Ornithology Since Darwin (2014), and The Most Perfect Think: The inside (and Outside) of a Birds Egg (2016), as well as through many popular science articles.  Congratulations!


The 2017 Stephen Jay Gould Prize Committee:

Michael Anatolin (chair)
Joe Graves
Kelly Dyer
Kristi Montooth