Society Awards and Prizes


The following awards provide funding for travel to the annual Evolution meeting.

SSE/BEACON Undergraduate Diversity at Evolution travel award

This travel award brings talented and diverse undergraduates (domestic and international) to the meeting to present a poster, receive mentoring and participate in a career-oriented 'Undergraduate Futures in Evolutionary Biology' panel and discussion. The program covers travel, registration, and room and board. For more information and to submit an application visit the organizer's website. Applications will be accepted until 11:59 PM (EST) on March 31, 2017 and awardees will be notified by April 6.

SSE Graduate Student and Postdoc travel supplements

Graduate student and postdoc members of the SSE can request to be considered for a $500 US travel award. To be eligible, they must present a talk or poster and must provide a written explanation of why they need the funds (150 words maximum). They must also not have received the travel award in the previous year, and postdocs must be fewer than 6 years post-PhD without a permanent position. Applications are made during main conference registration and will be accepted until the end of early registration (i.e. midnight on Apr. 15). Applicants will be informed of the outcome by May 15th at the latest.

SSE International travel stipends

These stipends support attendance at the conference for scientists at various stages of their professional career (e.g., Masters/PhD students, postdocs, and lecturers). You must be a member of the SSE. Those working in countries with high GDP are not eligible. For additional information and the application procedure, consult the SSE's website. Deadline for application is March 31, 2017.




The Stephen Jay Gould Prize

The Stephen Jay Gould Prize is awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution to recognize individuals whose sustained and exemplary efforts have advanced public understanding of evolutionary science and its importance in biology, education, and everyday life in the spirit of Stephen Jay Gould.

The Theodosius Dobzhansky Prize

The Theodosius Dobzhansky Prize is awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution to recognize the accomplishments and future promise of an outstanding young evolutionary biologist. The prize was established in memory of Professor Dobzhansky by his friends and colleagues, and reflects his lifelong commitment to fostering the research careers of young scientists.

The R.A. Fisher Prize

The R. A. Fisher Prize is awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution for an outstanding Ph.D. dissertation paper published in the journal Evolution during a given calendar year.

The W. D. Hamilton Award

The Hamilton Award will be given to a student who has presented an outstanding talk at the annual meeting, as judged by a committee of SSE members. Applicants will present their papers during regular sessions of the meeting, appropriate for their topic. The most competitive talks will be those that can convey a complete story.

The Rosemary Grant Awards

These awards are to assist students in the early stages of their Ph.D (first two years). programs by enabling them to collect preliminary data (to pursue additional sources of support) or to enhance the scope of their research beyond current funding limits (e.g. by visiting additional field sites, or working at other labs). Students will need to demonstrate how the proposed work is outside any related funding for the project already held by the student or advisor.

International Committee Travel Awards

The SSE-IC mission is to foster international relationships between evolution societies and its members with particular focus on students and early-career scientists. The committee sponsors annually a series of activities/awards to reach this goal:
1. International Travel Stipends (IT- Awards)
2. Co-sponsorship of symposia organized by non-US based evolution societies
3. Evolution International Events (EIE) awards
The International Travel Stipend is managed directly by the SSE-IC committee. For the other two award types, the SSE-IC committee will present the best proposals to the SSE council, which will decide on the winner for that year. The equivalent of 10,000 euros will be devoted to the International Travel stipends. The rest of the available funding will be either given to either a single proposal from one category or divided amongst the best proposals in either of the two categories.

Thomas Henry Huxley Award

This award named in honor of Darwin's very public supporter T. H. Huxley, was established in 2013 to recognise outreach and education achievement for early and mid career scientists. Winners of this award are provided with support to present on behalf of the Society for the Study of Evolution at the annual meeting of the National Association of Biology Teachers (NABT). Annual calls for nomination will be advertised on the SSE web site and through appropriate Evolutionary Biology web sources such as EVOLDIR in late January/early February.

Small Grants Program for Local and Regional Outreach Promoting the Understanding of Evolutionary Biology

The SSE provides opportunities for SSE members to apply for awards up to $1,000. Deadlines for applications are announced annually and usually take place in late October/early November. Awards are announced in December. The Committee encourages partnerships between other bodies engaged in outreach, such as museums, local schools, etc.