The Stephen Jay Gould Prize

The Stephen Jay Gould Prize is awarded annually by the Society for the Study of Evolution to recognize individuals whose sustained and exemplary efforts have advanced public understanding of evolutionary science and its importance in biology, education, and everyday life in the spirit of Stephen Jay Gould.


2019 Gould Prize Winner: Dr. Mohamed Noor

The SSE Gould Prize Committee is pleased to announce Dr. Mohamed Noor of Duke University as the 2019 recipient of the Stephen Jay Gould Prize. Dr. Noor was selected for his continued outreach to broad audiences outside of academia, including an ongoing MOOC titled "Introduction to Genetics and Evolution" and his recent book "Live Long and Evolve: What Star Trek Can Teach Us about Evolution, Genetics, and Life on Other Worlds." Dr. Noor's tireless promotion of evolution includes outreach through public appearances at science fiction conventions, a genetics and evolution app, K-12 programs, and a classroom kit for teaching natural selection. As the Gould Prize awardee, Dr. Noor will present the public outreach lecture at this year's Evolution meeting in Providence, RI, USA in June. Learn more about the Gould Prize here.




Stephen J. Gould Prize recipients and presentations:

2019, Mohamed Noor |
2015, Francisco Ayala |
2012, David Quammen |
2009, Dr. Eugenie C. Scott |

2017, Timothy R. Birkhead

2014, Dr. Steve Jones |
2011, Dr. Kenneth R. Miller |
2016, Carl Zimmer |
2013, Judith G. Scotchmoor |
2010, Dr. Sean B. Carroll |

Back to top