Join our Researcher Database for Media

Dec 04, 2017 - 10:03 PM

We are creating a database of researchers who would be willing to be contacted by the media to comment on others’ research in their area of expertise. With increasing specialization of research, it can be difficult for science communicators to find appropriate sources to comment on new research. By joining this database, you can be a resource for science communicators and contribute to accurate science reporting. To sign up, fill out this survey.

If you are a science communicator and would like access to the database, please contact Kati Moore at

Seeking non-academic mentors for graduate students

Dec 04, 2017 - 10:01 PM

Are you a PhD in a non-academic career? Would you like to help guide students as they decide what career path to pursue? Consider joining the Diverse Careers Mentor Database. This database will be shared with current graduate students who are interested in non-academic careers. Students will be encouraged to contact mentors to set up informational interviews and learn more about their mentor’s field. To join, please fill out the form here.

To learn more about the Diverse Careers Committee, or to view other resources for current students, please visit the Diverse Careers website

AIBS Congressional Visits Day Grants

Nov 30, 2017 - 09:14 PM

SSE will fund a limited number of SSE members to attend the AIBS Congressional Visits Day on April 17-18, 2018 in Washington, DC. This event will include an advocacy-training program and congressional meetings with elected officials. Scientists and graduate students who are interested in communicating the importance of federal investments in scientific research and education to lawmakers are encouraged to participate in this important event. Learn more and register here. To apply for funding to cover travel and lodging, please apply here by January 31, 2018.

Policy Workshop for SSE Members

Nov 30, 2017 - 06:52 PM

Do you think science should influence policy? Do you have a particular issue that you would like to bring to the attention of policymakers? Sign up for an online policy training session hosted by the SSE Policy Committee. Participants will learn how to write a brief and meet with policymakers, then apply what they learned by meeting with a policymaker about an issue of their choosing. Training will take place online via four webinars during January-March 2018. Registration is limited to 15 members and closes December 15. Free to SSE members. Learn more here.  

Letter to Congress Regarding Tax Cuts and Jobs Act

Nov 27, 2017 - 06:42 PM

On November 23, SSE, ASN, and SSB sent a letter to members of the House and Senate regarding the proposed tax on graduate student tuition waivers included in the version of the Tax Cuts and Jobs Act passed by the House of Representatives on November 16, 2017. Read the full letter below.

Call for host labs for displaced researchers

Nov 14, 2017 - 08:01 PM

SSE has started a new initiative to help student and postdoc researchers in Puerto Rico whose research was affected by Hurricane Maria. In addition to providing funding for students, we are looking to connect students with host labs. If you would like to host a student researcher in your lab, please fill out the form here. If you know of an affected student in need of funding and/or a host lab, please send them the application form here.

Vote now in SSE Elections

Nov 10, 2017 - 08:51 PM

The election of 2018 candidates for SSE offices (President, Secretary, Non-NA Vice President, and Council members) is now open. Elected candidates will serve beginning January 1. The SSE council is also proposing an amendment to Article 4 of the Society Constitution and Bylaws to 1) add two GSAC representatives to the Council as voting members with three-year terms and 2) conduct Council business via email. Voting will close on November 21.

Abstract Submissions Open for Evolution 2018

Nov 07, 2017 - 07:44 PM
Picture 0 for Abstract Submissions Open for Evolution 2018

We are happy to announce that abstract submission is now open for next year's 2nd Joint Congress on Evolutionary Biology in Montpellier, France (18-22 August 2018). Joint Congresses take place every six years and bring together four of the world's largest academic societies in the field of evolutionary biology: the European Society for Evolutionary Biology, the American Society of Naturalists, the Society for the Study of Evolution and the Society of Systematic Biologists.

Following the traditional format of ESEB conferences, all contributed talks and posters will be submitted to specific symposia and selected on the basis of their abstract by symposium organizers.

New Research Grants for Graduate Students

Nov 07, 2017 - 07:05 PM

SSE is pleased to announce a new grant program for graduate students: the Graduate Research Excellence Grants (GREG). This program includes two tiers of awards: one for early PhD students and one for advanced PhD students. These awards are named for eminent evolutionary biologists also known for their strong mentorship and training of young evolutionary biologists: The GREG R.C. Lewontin Early Award, and the GREG Rosemary Grant Advanced Award. Applications will be due in February. Learn more about the awards here.

Darwin Day Roadshow Applications

Oct 25, 2017 - 08:18 PM
Picture 0 for Darwin Day Roadshow Applications

The Darwin Day Roadshow is a way for scientists and educators to share their enthusiasm for evolutionary science with students, teachers and the general public across the United States in the spring each year, to celebrate Charles Darwin’s birthday (February 12th). Applications from host teachers for the 2018 Roadshow are now being accepted and are due December 20, 2017.  If you are a scientist interested in participating, please email Travis Hagey at Learn more here.

« 1 2 3 4 5 »


The Society for the Study of Evolution was founded in March, 1946. The objectives of the Society for the Study of Evolution are the promotion of the study of organic evolution and the integration of the various fields of science concerned with evolution. The Society publishes the scientific journal Evolution and co-publishes Evolution Letters along with the European Society of Evolutionary Biology. SSE also holds annual meetings in which scientific findings on evolutionary biology are presented and discussed.


December 2017
December 2017


Back to top