Officers

Officers and Council Members
Committees
Publishers Contacts
Business Office
Email List
Handbook for SSE Council Members

 


SSE Council Meeting at Evolution 2017

Back row from left: Becky Fuller, Jodie Wiggins, Daniel Matute, Trisha Wittkopp, Kim Hughes, Aneil Agrawal, Cynthia Weinig, Butch Brodie

Front row from left: Kati Moore, Megan Kobiela, Kristi Montooth, Louise Mead, Sally Otto, Jenny Boughman, Andrea Case, Cathy Rushworth, Mohamed Noor, Kelly Dyer

Not pictured: Hopi Hoesktra, Isabel Gordo, Susan Alberts

 

SSE Officers and Council Members: 2017

denotes voting members

President
+ Sally Otto 
Department of Zoology
University of British Columbia
Vancouver, BC, Canada V6T 1Z4
(604) 822-2778
otto@zoology.ubc.ca
president@evolutionsociety.org

Link to Evolution 2017 address

President-Elect
Hopi Hoekstra 
Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology
Harvard University
Cambridge, MA 02138
(617) 496-9040
hoekstra@oeb.harvard.edu

   

Past President
Kim Hughes
Department of Biological Science
Florida State University
Tallahassee, FL 32306
(850) 645-8554 
kahughes@bio.fsu.edu

Link to Evolution 2016 address

Executive Vice-President
Andrea Case
Department of Biological Sciences
Kent State University
Kent, Ohio, USA 44242
(330) 672-3699
acase@kent.edu
execvp@evolutionsociety.org

   

Vice-Presidents
Jenny Boughman (North American)
Department of Zoology
Michigan State University
East Lansing, MI, USA 48824
(517) 353-8636
boughman@msu.edu

Isabel Gordo (non-North American)
Instituto Gulbenkian de Ciência
Potugal
+351 214407915 ext 4215
igordo@igc.gulbenkian.pt

   

Secretary
Cynthia Weinig 
Departments of Botany and Molecular Biology
Program in Ecology
University of Wyoming
Laramie WY 820701
(307) 766-6378
cweinig@uwyo.edu
secretary@evolutionsociety.org

 
   

Council – Class of 2017
Kelly Dyer 
Department of Genetics
University of Georgia
Athens, GA 30602-7223
(706) 542-3154
kdyer@uga.edu

Kristi Montooth 
School of Biological Sciences
University of Nebraska
Lincoln NE, 68588-0118
(402) 472-8455 
kmontooth2@unl.edu

   

Council – Class of 2018
Susan Alberts
Department of Biology
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
(919) 660-7272
alberts@duke.edu

Rebecca (Becky) Fuller
Department of Animal Biology
University of Illinois - Champaign
Champaign, IL 61820
(217) 333-9065
fuller@life.illinois.edu

   

Council – Class of 2019
Daniel Matute
Department of Biology
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 962-4442
dmatute@email.unc.edu

Trisha Wittkopp 
Department of Ecology and Evolutionary Biology
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI 48109
(734) 763-1548
wittkopp@umich.edu

   

Editor-in-Chief, Evolution
Mohamed Noor 
Department of Biology
Campus Box 90338
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
(919) 613-8156
noor@duke.edu

 
   

Editor, Evolution 
Peter Tiffin
Department of Plant Biology
University of Minnesota
St. Paul, MN 55108
(612) 624-7406
ptiffin@umn.edu

Editor, Evolution 
Maria Servedio
Biology Department
University of North Carolina
Chapel Hill, NC 27599
(919) 843-2692
servedio@email.unc.edu

   

Editor-in-Chief, Evolution Letters
Jon Slate
Room B85, Alfred Denny Building
The University of Sheffield
Western Bank, Sheffield, S10 2TN, UK
+44 (0)114 222 0048
j.slate@sheffield.ac.uk

   

Social Media & Communications Editor, Evolution Letters
Nicola Hemmings
Department of Animal and Plant Sciences
The University of Sheffield
Western Bank, Sheffield, S10 2TN, UK
+44 (0)114 222 4828
n.hemmings@sheffield.ac.uk

 
   

Chair, Education & Outreach
Louise S. Mead
Education Director
BEACON Center for the Study of Evolution in Action
567 Wilson Ave, BPS 1441
East Lansing, MI
(517) 884-2560
lsmead@msu.edu

Chair, International Committee
Nina Wedell
Dept of Biosciences
University of Exeter, Cornwall Campus
UK
+44 (0) 1326 371863
N.Wedell@exeter.ac.uk

2017 SSE Committee Memberships

* Committee designated in Constitution or Bylaws
Ad hoc committee appointed by Pres. and approved by council

Nominating Committee
Constitution, Article 5
Judith Mank (Chair)
Norman Johnson
Marc Johnson
Finance Committee
Bylaws, Article 4 
Andrea Case (Chair)
Butch Brodie
Kim Hughes
Elizabeth Lacey
   
Graduate Student Advisory Council
Megan Kobiela (Chair)
Daren Card
Melissa Kemp
Aide Macias Munoz
Jodie Wiggins
 
   
Dobzhansky Award Committee
Bylaws, Article 4
Cynthia Weinig
Isabel Gordo
Jenny Boughman
Fisher Prize Commitee
Bylaws, Article 4
Sally Otto
Kim Hughes
Hopi Hoekstra
   
Gould Committee
(Two members of the Education committee and the two 3rd year council members)
Michael Anatolin (Chair)
Joe Graves
Kelly Dyer
Kristi Montooth
Rosemary Grant Committee
(North American VP, Non-North American VP, 1st & 2nd year council members, 3 members of GSAC))
Isabel Gordo (Chair)
Jenny Boughman
Becky Fuller
Susan Alberts
Trisha Wittkopp
Daniel Matute
3 members of GSAC
   
Hamilton Award Committee
Joel McGlothlin (Chair)
Janna Fierst
Katy Heath
Chris Herlihy
Jennifer Kovacs
Daniel Matute
Will Ratcliff

Diverse Careers Committee
Lex Flagel (Chair)
Judi Brown Clarke
Eddie Gonzalez
Karl Grieshop, TRAINEE
Aide Macias Munoz, TRAINEE
Sarah Seiter
Liz Silva
Lenny Teytelman
Grace A Wyngaard
Mohamed Noor (ex officio)

Diverse Careers Committee Website

   

Policy Committee
Sarah Otto
Cynthia Weinig
Jenny Boughman
Amanda Moehring
Courtney Fitzpatrick
Seeking additional members - contact president@evolutionsociety.org

Diversity Committee
Daniel Matute
Maurine Neiman
Kelly Dyer
Catherine Rushworth
Eve Humphrey
Brandon Ogbunugafor
Maria Orive

 

International Affairs Committee
USA/Canada: Daphne Fairbairn (USA), Andrew Hendry (Canada).
Europe: Axel Meyer (Germany), Nina Wedell (Chair; UK).
Australia/New Zealand: Andrew Cockburn (Australia), Graham Wallis (New Zealand).
Africa: Matthew Conrad (South Africa), Isa-Rita Russo (South Africa).
South America: Enrique Lessa (Uruguay)
Asia: Suhua Shi (China)


 

Joint Meeting Committee
Aneil Agrawal (SSE representative)
Kelly Zamudio (SSB representative)
Matt Walsh (ASN representative)
Howard Rundle (Chief Meeting Officer)
Andrea Case (SSE EVP)


 

SSE Education & Outreach Committee
Louise S. Mead (2008) (Chair)
Thomas R. Meagher (1997)  
Michael Antolin (2001)
E Dale Broder (2013)  
Scott Edwards (2000)
George Gilchrist (2009) (ASN Representative)
Joseph L. Graves Jr. (2000)
Kristin Jenkins (2006)
Rebecca Kimball (2008) (SSB Representative)
Rich Kliman (2014)
Juliet Noor (2014)
Mohamed Noor (2013)
Steve Palumbi (2002)
Robert T. Pennock (2000)
Sam Scheiner (2001)
Jim Smith (2012)
Jory P Weintraub (2013)
Lorne Wolfe (2007)

 

 


Publishers Contacts


 

Wiley-Blackwell Publishing
Steven Ottogalli
Publisher, Life & Physical Sciences
Global Research & Society Services
John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
111 River Street M/S 3-02
Hoboken, NJ 07030
(201) 748-7761 
sottogalli@wiley.com

Katie Simmons
Managing Editor, Evolution
John Wiley & Sons
111 River Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
evoedoffice@wiley.com

   

Gillian Greenough
Executive Editor, Life & Physical Sciences
Research & Society Services
John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
111 River Street M/S 3-02
Hoboken, NJ 07030
(201) 748-5850
ggreenough@wiley.com

Shantaya Brinson
Managing Editor, Evolution Letters
John Wiley & Sons
111 River Street
Hoboken, NJ 07030
sbrinson@wiley.com

 


Business Contacts

SSE Communications
Kati Moore
Department of Biology
Campus Box 90338
Duke University
Durham, NC 27708
communications@evolutionsociety.org

 

 

SSE Business Office & Web
William M Dahl
Society for the Study of Evolution
4475 Castleman Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
PO Box 299
St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
Ph: 314-577-9566
FAX: 314-577-9515
wdahl@evolutionsociety.org

SSE Membership Coordinator
Heather Cacanindin
Membership & Subscriptions Director
BSA & SSE
4475 Castleman Avenue
St. Louis, MO 63110
PO Box 299, St. Louis, MO 63166-0299
Ph: 314-577-9554
FAX: 314-577-9515
hcacanindin@evolutionsociety.org


Email List Contacts

 

EvolDir – Brian Golding
golding@mcmaster.ca

EcoLog
ECOLOG-L-request@listserv.umd.edu


Back to top