Student Involvement

About Student Membership

Students enjoy a reduced rate for SSE membership. Join today!

Follow us on Twitter! @SSEgrad

Visit the Diverse Careers Committee website for useful information from members of the Society for the Study of Evolution and related societies regarding career paths for MS students and PhD students getting their degrees in the broader field of evolutionary biology.


Student Council


GSAC at the Evolution 2017 meeting
From left: Jodie Wiggins, Melissa E. Kemp, Aide Macias Muñoz, Megan Kobiela, Cathy Rushworth, Daren Card


To reach us, email GSAC [at] with any questions, comments, concerns, or ideas!



Current SSE GSAC Council Members


Liz Lange
Member 2018-2020, Chair 2019
GSAC [at]
I am a PhD candidate at Florida State University studying the maintenance of variation in life history and behavioral strategies in fish.


Jodie Wiggins
Member 2017-2019, Chair 2018
I am a postdoc at the University of Tennessee, Knoxville working with the Phylotastic project. I am interested in all things evolution and am currently working to develop classroom resources to make the biological tree of life more accessible.

José Cerca
Member 2018-2019
I am a PhD student in Evolutionary Genomics and Zoology at the University of Oslo (Norway). I study evolutionary processes and genome architecture in cryptic species complexes.

Melissa Plakke
Member 2018-2019
I am a PhD candidate at the University of Pittsburgh where I am currently studying reproductive coevolution and its potential for driving speciation in butterflies.

Sally Chang
Member 2019-2020
I am a postdoc in evolutionary genomics and computational biology at the National Human Genome Research Institute. My research focuses on the assembly and characterization of cnidarian genomes and analysis of associated population genetic patterns, especially in relation to the evolution of novelty and complexity.

A. Z. Andis
Member 2019-2020
I am a PhD candidate in the School of Forestry and Environmental Studies at Yale University. My research focuses on contemporary adaptation and eco-evolutionary dynamics in metapopulations. I currently work with wood frogs (Rana sylvatica).

Student Awards

Graduate Research Excellence Grants
W. D. Hamilton Award
T. H. Huxley Award
R .A. Fisher Prize
Outreach grants
Graduate/Postdoc Travel Awards
International Committee Travel Awards

Past GSAC Members


Megan Kobiela
Member 2016-2018, Chair 2017.


Daren Card
Member 2017-2018


Cathy Rushworth
Member 2013-2017, Chair 2013-2016


Melissa E. Kemp
Member 2016-2017


Aide Macias Muñoz
Member 2016-2017


Karl Grieshop
Member 2014-2016

Back to top